• New to Real Estate
Votes |
Asset Protection : LLC Formation for First Investment

Kashyap Shah
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
Posted Feb 22 2024, 13:34

Hello ,

I am Kash from San Jose,CA and I am a Rookie in the world of real estate investments. 

I am planning to buy my first investment property in Austin, Texas. 

I have a few questions related to LLC formation . I have heard that forming a Wyoming LLC is better for asset protection. So I do have following questions :

1) What are the benefits and drawbacks of forming an LLC in Wyoming versus Texas?

2) How will Wyoming's laws and regulations affect the management and operation of the LLC?

3) Are there any specific requirements or compliance issues for an out-of-state LLC owning property in Texas?

4) Are there any restrictions or limitations on the LLC's ability to purchase, sell, or finance property in Texas?

5) Are there any other legal or financial considerations I should be aware of?

I'd appreciate any guidance or recommendations. 

Thanks ,

Kash

User Stats

Votes
Replied Feb 22 2024, 22:17

@Kashyap Shah

A lot of your questions have been answered before in the forums. I'd start by searching through the forums.

Most importantly, insurance coverage > LLC for liability protection

That said, to answer your questions...

1. The LLC that will hold the property is often formed in the same state as the property. This works best for many investors

2. There is a lot of 'it depends' with this. If you have a WY LLC that owns a TX property and you get sued in relation to the TX property, the TX courts may not acknowledge WY's laws. This is a question you'd want answered by a TX attorney.

3. Check with the TX Secretary of State

4. In many cases an out of state LLC, also referred to as a 'foreign entity' simply needs to register in that state to do business. In your case TX