• Investor
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
Possible to sell SFR contract done through Agent

Jason Sung
  • Investor
  • Dallas, TX
Posted Jul 9 2022, 06:14

HI, I am new to wholesale and I have a very basic question. I have a property under contract (from MLS and through my agent) that I originally intended to either BRRRR or flip. I changed my mind and want to back off from the contract.

My question is, is it possible to sell such a contract? Based on my reading, a general wholesale process does not engage agents (i.e., no listing agent and no buyer's agent). Would appreciate any advice!

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Jul 9 2022, 06:59

You can wholesale any TREC 1-4 contract in Texas as long as there was not a clause that specifically states that the contract is unassignable.  The biggest obstacle you’re going to face is getting the realtors on board. A lot of them don’t like assignment and think it’s illegal, WRONG 

User Stats

Votes
Lucia Rushton
  • Realtor
  • Dallas - Fort Worth Metroplex, Tx
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Dallas - Fort Worth Metroplex, Tx
Replied Jul 9 2022, 07:38

@Jason Sung. Have you mentioned this to your agent? Will you do all the work to wholesale this and manage that part of the transaction with title as you are now looking at a double close. And your click is ticking. What is the contracted close date ?

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Daniel Paloscio
  • Lender
  • Tampa, FL
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Tampa, FL
Replied Jul 9 2022, 08:15