Skip to content
Wholesaling

User Stats

Votes

Finding a buyer first?

Karl Washington
Posted Aug 30 2022, 07:02

Hello,

I'm new to wholesaling. Just learning at this point. Is it okay to find a buyer first? What happens if you get a property under contract but aren't able to find a buyer?

Thanks for your help

User Stats

Votes
Jim Pellerin
  • Real Estate Consultant
  • USA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Consultant
  • USA
Replied Aug 30 2022, 07:09
Quote from @Karl Washington:

Hello,

I'm new to wholesaling. Just learning at this point. Is it okay to find a buyer first? What happens if you get a property under contract but aren't able to find a buyer?

Thanks for your help

@Karl Washington a lot of wholesalers say "if you find a good deal, it's easy to find a buyer". I prefer to find buyers first, for 2 reasons.

1. You are looking for properties that you know your buyers will want 

2. It's less stressful knowing you have buyers waiting for the deals you are looking for.

If you happen to find a deal that none of your buyers want then you could always joint ventuire with another wholesaler

so your first 2 activities should be 

1. build a list of buyers

2, build a list of disposition wholesalers

User Stats

Votes
Scott E.
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Replied Aug 30 2022, 08:13

As a wholesaler ideally you should have a dozen buyers or more "in your back pocket" when you're searching for deals.

If you get a deal under contract where the numbers actually work, you'll probably be able to scramble and dig up a buyer before the end of your due diligence window, but that type of uncertainty can be stressful.

Start building your buyers list now. Learn what those buyers are looking for. Keep an organized list. And follow up with those buyers often to confirm they are still actively pursuing deals.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored