Assigning My Option Agreement - I Don't Trust The End Buyer

5 Replies

Hello BP. I have been helping investors find properties to purchase for the last several months starting with my first profit made in June 2014. I have done about 5 more deals since. However, I have not been doing it the traditional "wholesaleing" way. I have been getting away with having my buyers verbally agree to pay my finder's fee or partnering with other wholesalers and splitting profits when I find them a buyer or find them a property. However, I would like to change or upgrade my method. 

I have a property under contract and a buyer ready to purchase. I have my "Assignment Agreement" ready to send to the end buyer. However, I am a tad bit nervous because I am wondering how the buyer will perform. If I send the buyer my Assignment Agreement with the Option Contract (the contract between the owner and I) attached to it, the buyer will see how much profit I am making from the sale and will see that they could have purchased the property for less if they could get around me. So, do I send the buyer the Assignment Agreement first and then the Option Contract after they send me back the Assignment Agreement? Or just send them both at the same time?

Your option/purchase agreement is what you are assigning/selling.  Why on earth would someone sign an assignment agreement and pay you money, if they didn't know what they were buying? Your assignment agreement obviously much have a price/fee that they are paying you, for a specific agreement on a specific property, so the assignment agreement by itself reveals your fee/spread. No way to prevent this with an assignment, only with a double close.