Skip to content
Wholesaling

User Stats

Votes
Benjamin Vail
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
Is wholesaling actually illegal in Ohio?

Benjamin Vail
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Columbus, OH
Posted Jun 13 2016, 14:30

Full disclosure: I am a licensed real estate broker in Ohio. I am also an investor. I have done lots of research on the practice of wholesaling. I must say in my opinion this practice (in most forms) is at a minimum shady, and at a maximum an illegal way to screw over an un-educated home owner. I am putting this information out there because I don't think most wholesalers understand that they are breaking the law. Though most of them are profiting, very few are ever getting caught. Now that I have your attention, let me explain.

I just read this article that was put out by the Ohio Association of Realtors (so consider the source). It has really made me re-think the wholesaling practice that I see lots of investors doing. Though most unlicensed investors probably hate the licensing laws, they are LAWS, and practicing real estate without a license is illegal. In Ohio it is illegal for an individual to Sell, exchange, purchase, or negotiate the sale, exchange, purchase, of any real estate for another, for a fee, without first obtaining a real estate license. That means if you are not a principal in the transaction, you can not negotiate, sell, or market real estate and collect a fee. So signing a contract to purchase real estate from someone, and then marketing that contract to another person for more money is illegal unless you have a license. If you have a license, it is also illegal, because you are not acting in the clients best interest, you are acting in your own. If you know you can sell the property for more money to someone else, then you are acting outside of the cannons of ethics for licensed real estate agents or brokers.