re: Southern California Rental Market

12 Replies

Here's a great read on the state of affairs in the rental market in Los Angeles.  I am a property manager in LA, and I have seen rents skyrocket here in the last 3 years.  Los Angeles is one of the most least affordable places to live in the country.  

Here's the link:

http://projects.scpr.org/longreads/high-rent-few-options/

But it's still one of the most anti-landlord markets in the nation. Rent control, long evictions, etc. 

Aristotle Kumpis, yes, you are correct.  The rental laws here do favor residents.

Hank,

Thanks for posting that article!

I've been living in Japan for the past 10 years and I'm returning to So.Cal this month (May 30th). My wife is Japanese and my research has shown me that Torrance has a very strong Japanese community, so our plan is to move there. However my plan was to do a "house hack" and buy a four-plex using a FHA 3.5% down payment loan and live in one of the units and rent the other 3 out as Josh and Brandon talk about in their beginners guide. However after looking at properties on Realtor.com in the Torrance area there doesn't seem to be anything realistic I could get (that isn't a dump) that fits in my starting budget (I've got about 12,000$ now and plan to buckle down and hopefully save). After reading the article you just posted it's not sounding too likely that I'm going to find anything reasonable.

What advice would you have for me?  Should I keep plugging away at Torrance? Do you see a housing crash on the horizon any time soon where properties might become abundant and affordable? OR... As I stated, I'm moving from Japan to the US.  I'm in a position where I could land anywhere in California or the US for that matter.  I read an article in Forbes saying that Sacramento was a previously not-so-great area but is on the rise and becoming a good place for real estate investors.  What have you heard?  Anywhere in the US you know is "hot" for real estate investing?