Moving to Tulsa Ok and have never been...

18 Replies

Hey everyone,

I thought I would share that I am moving to Tulsa in Aug. for a new job after I graduate this summer. I have been living in Colorado and I am fortunate enough to have the ability to sell my house in this mini bubble market. 

I have never been to Tulsa and would like to ask if anyone has any suggestions on good places to buy property as a personal residence. Where are the best and growing areas that may provide above average appreciation? My current research tells me Bixby, owasso, broken arrow, and jerks?

My plan is to buy a personal residence and then take a year to study the market and invest in multifamily (2-4 units) after that. I am a newbie so any advice will be appreciated. Does anyone have any feedback on how to buy "right" for a personal residence? 

Thank you all in advance! Your insight means a lot to me...

Hello, 

Welcome and congradulations on your new Job. 

After living in OK for eight years I like Broken Arrow for city living. The others are closer to country living. I was a practicing country girl there lived in the country and drove into Broken Arrow daily to work. There is were I got my first Realtors license. 

I may return there some day who knows. 

Hope this helps. 

Don't dismiss midtown.  You will have similar issues but to a much smaller scale than bigger cities.  Older, mature areas will tend to be priced more per sq foot and appreciate more than the urban sprawl where homeowners are competing against new home builders while gaining longer and longer commutes. 

There's a strong desire for young and older professionals to be closer to the inner city with access to restaurants and their jobs.  Those without kids don't care about school districts.  

Tulsa won't blow you away with appreciation but as long as you aren't buying in a low income area, you won't get rocked during a big housing downturn either.