San Antonio - Camelot

4 Replies

The Camelot area in San Antonio has historically been a high crime area covered in huge piles of trash. However, I have been seeing quite a bit in the news about the area being gentrified recently.

I am a newbie so I would like to get the opinion of more seasoned BP peeps with a better understanding of the market.

I’m wondering if it might be a good idea to get In while prices are low and homeowners are motivated. Does anyone think that a buy and hold investment in this area would pay off in the coming years? Or just be a huge headache?

Thanks in advance for your input!

Areas gentrify for a reason. What reason would Camelot gentrify??

It is not close to downtown, does not have some old beautiful houses, high crime is not changing, income of the people is not changing and there is not a bunch of new development in the area. Rackspace is a few miles away, but is that causing people to look for housing there??

YOu mentioned that prices are low and homeowners are motivated. YES prices are low and they are moving somewhat. I dont think they are moving that much and they are going to be very hard to deal with tenants. NO I dont believe that homeowners are motivated. Why would they be. The area did not "go bad" last year or a couple of years ago. It has been that way for a long time.

Promotion
Jamestown Invest
Build a well-balanced portfolio with CRE
Considering CRE Investing?
Download this whitepaper and learn about CRE investing from a manager with a 38 year track record
Learn More