Can i refinance my NACA mortage with a different lender

5 Replies

Hi

I'm new to real estate investing currently still researching about loan programs that will best help me as a newbie I don't want to make any mistakes I'm scared... I read a bit about NACA mortgage. Anyone with an advice for me before I proceed.

Q.

Can I refinance and pull cash out of a property? Like a brrrr strategy

Q.2

Can I refinance NACA mortgage with a different lender?

@Campbell Agyei I closed on a fourplex with a NACA mortgage that I still have to this day. A few things about NACA, the process heavily deters investors for a few simple reasons:

1. You cannot have any ownership stake in any Real estate to close a NACA loan

2. NACA process is very long and arduous. It is not a quick 30 days and you are into a property. Average time frame is 1-2 years start to finish. I was with the program for 2.5 years, four unit purchase, complete gut, down to studs. Reno was 10 months but took a full 12 to get all the paperwork squared away.

3. If you can get a loan, its based on Owner occupy. If you move out you can refi to pull cash out i with another lender but this investment strategy should not be the relied upon as there are many factors in the NACA process that could kill your deal.

Short story is, if you can get a NACA loan, its worth it but it is NOT easy. Most of the issues are dealing with NACA reps who do not know a lot about the process or get back to you within a reasonable amount of time. So this lack to education/timeliness means you cannot move quick on deals and their process holds you up and could kill your deal. I was in escrow for 120 days and almost lost the deal 7 times due to NACA's incompetence in handling my file/understanding of how to UW a property.

If you go through it, you're in for a ride.