BiggerPockets

If you had 15K...

Forum Powered By:

18 posts by 8 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

John Jabson

Wheaton, Illinois

Dec 11 '12, 10:05 AM

If you were starting out with 15,000 cash and you wanted to flip homes, what steps would you take first? 15K is obviously not enough to flip an entire home.

This is what I'm starting with right now. I have done alot of contracting work (I'm not an expert on anything-I can do generally good work but would need to hire somebody for precise carpentry in certain circumstances).

I work a regular 8-4 job and live in a rural area. Homes can range from 20K (or lower for trash) to 200,000. Average first time home buyers pay between 60 and 100 in our area.

Marc Bodinger

New York City, New York

Dec 11 '12, 10:28 AM

Have you thought about investing in REITs? This might be an alternative where you invest in these types of companies and collect dividends on a monthly or quarterly basis. Even though it is a risky investment as it is a security but the money is liquid so you buy/sell anytime during trading hours.

Some of these REITs have 7%+ dividends thats pretty good when you are talking about 15K in cash. It is better than investing in US Treasuries.

Callum K.

SFR Investor from Tulsa, Oklahoma

Dec 11 '12, 10:48 AM

REITS carry their own type of risk. As they are required to pay out at least 90% of their net income to shareholders, their primary growth is through new sources of funding. I think they are a good/stable asset class for an investment portfolio but given the wishes of @John Jabson I expect he wants a more hands on approach to his investment.