BiggerPockets

HUD property I'm purchasing has been Vandalized!

Forum Powered By:

20 posts by 9 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Deano Carroll

Cincinnati, Ohio

Sep 20 '09, 01:35 AM
1 vote

Hi all, Deano from Cincinnati here. I'm in the process of buying our first HUD home, signed the papers and paid a $500 deposit.

THEN the back door was kicked in and all the copper stolen. HUD did not secure the property for three days and who knows what else was damaged.

I've asked for my earnest money BACK and told them that I would like to place a new bid due to the damage...as well as some serious structural damage which my engineer uncovered.

They've refused; consider me in default of contract and are putting it back on the market next week. What should I do?

I'm new at this...and was only trying to save a great old house and our neighborhood. Deano

Edited Jun 26 2010, 09:46 by Administrator: email address removed from post

Jon Klaus Moderator Donor

Real Estate Investor from Garland, Texas

Sep 20 '09, 03:08 AM
1 vote

Your experience with this is the same as mine. I had one under contract that got storm damage. They would not fix it or refund my $500 EMD, so I closed as the damage wasn't substantial.

You should walk and lose the $500 or close. If you walk, you might buy it in the next round, perhaps for thousands less.

Edited Jun 26 2010, 09:46

Jon Klaus, SellPropertyFast
E-Mail: [email protected]
Telephone: 214-929-6545

Deano Carroll

Cincinnati, Ohio

Sep 20 '09, 04:01 AM

Thanks Jon....that's what I'm planning to do. Such bureaucracy...why can't I just call and offer $1000 less? Now, it will take a week to get it back on the market, another week for me to make my offer and several days after that for them to accept it...hopefully it will be accepted, there has not been very much interest.

Sep 20 '09, 04:18 AM
3 votes