BiggerPockets

Request for Multi Unit Loan Advice & Credit Score Issue

Forum Powered By:

8 posts by 5 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Ryan Woodward

Excavaction Contractor from Rio Vista, California

Feb 10 '13, 11:43 AM

Hello All! I’m brand new to this amazing site. To be honest I’m a novice. I look forward to gaining friends, learning & sharing.
My project is a property with 2 units on 1 parcel. My $145,000 offer was accepted. I'm having issues & was wandering if someone could help. I have $8,000 to put down.
FHA & USDA loan options were denied. I’ve found a credit union that will offer a conv. loan w/ 3% down. My credit is getting dinged because credit reports are pulled each time I inquired about loans. I would like to confirm/compare my rate, but don't want to keep getting my credit score lowered. Also, the credit union wants to charge an IR of 4.25%, which is almost a full percent more than the FHA/USDA. Any advice on if this is a decent rate? Any advice of where else to look for loans without lowering my credit report?
Any advice is appreciated.

Joel Owens Verified Moderator

Commercial Real Estate Broker from Canton, Georgia

Feb 10 '13, 12:38 PM

Usually if you have multiple pulls for a home loan within a 2 week period then it counts as one pull. Are you going to be living in one side of the unit and renting out the other??

It sounds like you are going after and owner occupant loan and not an investor loan. If that's the case you must live their and will sign an affidavit stating such at closing with the lender.

They know buyers who are living in a property will fight hard to keep it in tough times which is why you have the better rate and less down than a investor loan.