Connecting on BiggerPockets: Followers & Colleagues
Monday, April 09
Connecting with others on BiggerPockets just got easier. There are two ways that you can connect -- as a Follower and Colleague.
Followers & Colleagues: What are they?
When you follow another user, what you're telling our system is that you're interested in seeing their various activities around the site, including posting of property listings, blog articles, and files, as well as other actions.
Colleagues can see everything that Followers can see, but they can also send one another private message. In addition, if you've got a profile that is private to everyone but colleagues, your colleagues will be able to see the details you've got posted, whereas followers or others will not.
How to Connect as a Follower or Colleague on BiggerPockets
On a user's profile, next to their forum posts, and next their blog posts, you'll find a Connect link. Once you click that link, you'll see a dropdown that will allow you to follow or send a colleague request to that user.
Simply click follow and you'll start following them. If you click "Send Colleague Request," you will be taken to a page where you can send a personal message with your request. It is in your best interest to provide a professional introduction, and to explain why you're looking to connect with that user.
Once you've entered your note and click "Send Request" the other user will be notified on their Notifications on site and by email of the request. If you've entered a message, that will appear in their inbox.
They can then choose to accept, reject, or ignore the request.
Now, the recipient of a colleague request can also elect to respond to the message in the request before or after responding to the request itself, just as you would respond to a private message.
Adding a Colleague Request After Following Someone - Just click the connect link and you'll see that you can send a request there.
Spontaneous Colleagues - When users follow one another, they become colleagues spontaneously.
Removing a Colleague - Just go to the Colleagues link on the left of your dashboard and click the red circle with the minus sign in it to remove any colleagues.