BiggerPockets

Loan Officer won't give me a copy of my credit report

Forum Powered By:

12 posts by 10 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Alex G

Real Estate Investor from Levittown, New York

Jun 05 '09, 01:05 AM

Loan Officer in Alabama is telling me she can't send me a copy of my credit report via email, fax or mail. Is that true? I've gotten my report from lenders in the mail in the past, this new or she just doesn't want me shopping it around? I used to be a loan officer in NY, I don't recall having this problem.

Edited Jun 26 2010, 08:27

Scott Hubbard

Rehabber from Tucson, Arizona

Jun 05 '09, 01:19 AM

I doubt Alabama has a law keeping lenders from providing a copy of your credit report since it seems anti-consumer to do so, but I am not familiar with its laws.

It is probably the lender's company policy. They are not required to provide you copy by (federal) law so they are within their rights to decline your request. However, you can contact the credit bureau's to get your own copy for free within 60 days.

You can go online and have a copy of all three of your CB's in less than 20 minutes.

Alex G

Real Estate Investor from Levittown, New York

Jun 05 '09, 01:42 AM

Thanks for the response. I'm aware I can get it on my own, trying to save some time and be up to date for my next investments. That's a rather annoying policy =).

Teresa K.

Real Estate Investor from Independence, Iowa

Jun 05 '09, 02:00 AM

I know even if you are turned down for the loan you can get a copy of your credit score. They have you sign their statement and then they are required to send to you by mail a letter as to why you were turned down. That is when you can ask for a copy. Ask for a manager to see if it is the company policy. You will not get the copy of your credit score this time within your time frame but you will know next time not to go to that lender.

Justin Pierce

Real Estate Investor from Woodbridge, Virginia