Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Tamara Abel
  • El Dorado Hills, CA
Votes |
Can you charge a late fee for rent in California?

Tamara Abel
  • El Dorado Hills, CA
Posted Jun 18 2013, 18:05

Hi! I'm new to the landlord position and have a question. I'm setting up a lease and wanted to know if anyone knew if I could, as an individual landlord, have a late fee stipulation in the lease. I am not a property manager, obviously, and had heard that only property managers could charge late fees. So, if I can't...what wording COULD I use in the lease to kind of have the same thing in there but with different wording. Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Mike Duran
  • Investor
  • Allen, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Allen, TX
Replied Jun 18 2013, 18:25

You can charge late fees and it MUST be stated in the lease. Check your local regulations to see if there is an acceptable amount and when you can start charging the fees. Here in Texas, in my lease the rent late after the first but fees do not start accumulating until the 3rd.

Remember, it all must be in the lease. You can work with an attorney to set up a lease that you use or see if there is a standard lease from your state that you can use.

User Stats

Votes
Nurit P.
  • encino
Votes |
  • encino
Replied Jun 18 2013, 18:29

First question, are you governed under the Rent Stabilization Ordinance?
(rent control) If so, you need to comply with their rules and regulations. You can also go to the National Apartment Association website for information or AAGLA.org for standardized forms that will include the language you are looking for.

Good luck,

Nurit Petri

PropStream logo
PropStream
|
Sponsored
Nationwide property data Use our robust, multi-sourced data to find off-market properties and close your next deal.

User Stats

Votes
David Avetisyan
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Glendale, CA
Votes |
  • Glendale, CA
Replied Jun 18 2013, 18:59