BiggerPockets

Flipping Newbie

Forum Powered By:

16 posts by 8 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Avi Cohen

Multi-family Investor from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Jan 14 '13, 07:24 AM

Hello all,

I have been doing real estate for the last 10 months and have two rental properties.

I am about to close on my first foreclosure and plan on rehabbing and flipping.

Are there any basics that I should know about flipping as well as basic first-timer mistakes that I can avoid? I can give information upon request so you can understand my request better if necessary.

I am working with a contractor I have already used on previous jobs and trust. He is getting his pay as 15% of the profit on sale so he gets paid when we do, so he's motivated to do the job well and on-time and within budget. The larger the margin the larger his profit.

Thanks so much in advance!

James Vermillion Donor

Real Estate Investor from Lexington, Kentucky

Jan 14 '13, 07:34 AM
2 votes

Avi, there is a lot to know about when it comes to rehabbing but I will cover a few of the most basic mistakes new rehabbers make, although it sounds like you have some real estate investing experience so hopefully you can avoid these:

1) Overestimating ARV (after repair value): it is human nature to be optimistic and look at the best case scenario, but you have to be realistic when analyzing the end sale price of a property. You need to know how to identify proper comparable properties and make the correct adjustments. Failing to estimate propertly can kill your profits, for example: if you estimate a house will sell for $120K and you plan on making $20K, you will be left with zero profit if the house is actually worth $100K.