BiggerPockets

Mortgage Assignment Contract Overview?

Forum Powered By:

109 posts by 31 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Mike Ducasse

Real Estate Investor from NY, New York

Dec 02 '10, 04:03 AM

I have been inquiring about this new method of real estate investing. Is there anyone here on BP who's familiar with doing Mortgage Assignment Contracts? If so what are the pros and cons? I want to start doing this because opportunity seems priceless, if anyone can touch on this subject matter it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Jason Wheeler

Real Estate Investor from Pleasant Hill, California

Dec 02 '10, 04:05 AM

Taking over a good mortgage is a great way to gain control of the property. Do you have any specific questions on the subject. What state are you looking to do this in?

Mike Ducasse

Dec 02 '10, 06:19 AM

Well as I've stated I'm new to this way of investing. What would be if any out of pocket cost I would have to pay in order to make a transaction such as this work bet. the buyer and seller? Do I even need money? I would be looking to do this in NYC, NJ & Atlanta for now.

Bill Walston

Real Estate Investor from Northeast TN, Tennessee

Dec 04 '10, 03:34 AM
4 votes

I listened in on a webinar by Michael Kimbel and Phil Grove on MAPS (Mortgage Assignments). From what I can tell just by listening, this is nothing more than buying a property sub2 and assigning the contract to and end buyer. There was no mention of working with the lender in taking over the loan. I'm not sure why this is even called a mortgage assignment. I admit, I have not read the materials or reviewed the contracts so I may have missed something, but I don't think so.

Jon Holdman Moderator

SFR Investor from Wheat Ridge, Colorado

Dec 04 '10, 03:48 AM
5 votes

Sounds like an old technique (subject to) with a new name.

Jon Holdman, Flying Phoenix LLC

Bryan A. Donor

Real Estate Investor from Charlotte, North Carolina

Dec 04 '10, 03:56 AM