• Las Vegas, NV
Votes |
Should I keep or sell my property?

Dain Boelter
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Las Vegas, NV
Posted Sep 16 2014, 20:26

Hello,

I am still fairly new to the property investment business. I own two homes in Goldsboro NC. The house I am currently wondering about is one I bought about 5 yrs ago for its actual market value (which I know not to do now). One year ago I refinanced from a 30yr to a 15yr fixed 2.5%. It's worth about $145,000 and I owe $117,000. The property is in a great part of Goldsboro and I believe it will increase in value a bit due to a new highway being built nearby and the shopping area improving nearby as well (but that's a gamble). I have tenants in there now and I make maybe $100 dollars a month profit to my mortgage.

I am wondering what you think my best option would be? Should I keep the property long term and just continue renting it out or should I sell the property as soon as possible and use that money to find a foreclosure in the Goldsboro or Raleigh area? should I use what little money I gain from a sell to pay off the other property I have a bit faster which is also on a 15yr?

User Stats

Votes
Michael Jobe
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Triangle Area, NC
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Triangle Area, NC
Replied Sep 16 2014, 20:50

Hey @Dain Boelter welcome to BiggerPockets!

Couple of questions:

1) Are these two properties you own both rentals or is one your primary residence? 

2) Are you wanting to build a portfolio of rental properties for the monthly cash flow? 

3) What do you owe on the other property?

Jobe Realty Group Logo

User Stats

Votes
Will Johnston
  • Investor
  • Washington, DC
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Washington, DC
Replied Sep 16 2014, 20:54

A couple of quick thoughts/questions...

When you say you make $100/month, is that $100 more than your mortgage PITI or $100 after all expenses are covered?