Votes
Robert Pfeiler
  • Orange, CA
Votes |
Finding the Value of a piece of land to flip to builders or build myself

Robert Pfeiler
  • Orange, CA
Posted Oct 28 2014, 12:51

I've been developing a relationship with a homeowner who sits on a piece of land hidden in a very nice residential area in Orange, CA. With a teardown the land could be subdivided into 5 or possibly 6 lots. This is prime flat land surrounded by all the utilities. The home is a very old farm home and the owner is showing interest in selling ... at least a piece of the property. My problem is I don't know how to price the land such that she's motivated to sell but is low enough to attract developers. Actually I don't think it's going to be difficult to find builders. This is a developers dream with a new home selling up to $650k. I just don't know how to go about pricing the land so to get an option on it and flip it (or build myself). The numbers confuse me. I am an active real estate agent and know how to prep comps.

Thank you for any feedback.

User Stats

Votes
Jeff Rabinowitz
  • Investor/Landlord
  • Farmington Hills, MI
Votes |
  • Investor/Landlord
  • Farmington Hills, MI
Replied Oct 28 2014, 13:02

Have you considered hiring an appraiser?  That will cost you a little but you would have an answer with a basis for it.  A good real estate agent or broker who deals with land might be able to help if you can find one.  The value will be most reliable if there have been sales of similar lots recently.

User Stats

Votes
Robert Pfeiler
  • Orange, CA
Votes |
  • Orange, CA
Replied Oct 28 2014, 13:09

Thank you, Jeff for a quick and excellent response. I'm pretty much able to comp the land. I'm just not sure how to price it for a developer.  Will a developer pay fair market value?

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes