Steven Tierney
  • Scituate, MA
Votes |
South Shore MA First Offer Disappointment/Fix & Flip Analysis

Steven Tierney
  • Scituate, MA
Posted Jan 24 2015, 07:18

Hi Everybody,

This was the first Fix & Flip property I've put an offer in on, so it was pretty exciting for me...  I posted a while back about a property in a South Shore town here in Massachusetts and the water damage and mold problems this house had, so if you're interested, that post is HERE.  Well, I went ahead and did my due diligence on the property by getting certified mold remediation costs, and then estimated rehab costs on my own (again, I'm a newbie) based on what demo/remediation was necessary, and lastly verified these estimated costs by getting estimates from 2 different GC's in the area. Here are the numbers I came up with:

• ARV: $375,000
  • List Price:  $275,000
  • Rehab:  $175,000 consisting of 3 story (bsmt, 1f, 2f) mold remediation / 100% first floor & 50% second floor interior gut of a 2,000 sf/4 bed/2 bath home.  The "put back" was to include mostly new plumbing and electrical, which were assumed to be junk based on burst pipes + mold/water damage (and to be conservative because the house was winterized), solid wood kitchen cabs, granite kitchen counters and bath vanities, stainless appliances, tiled baths, hardwoods throughout, 28 replacement windows,  interior (obviously) and exterior painting, 100 feet of fencing in the backyard, and a few thousand dollars for landscaping considering the yard consisted of dead grass and stumps.  All of the planned finishes and scope was to get the house back to being consistent with other properties in the area.
  • Fixed Costs: (6 months, traditional renovation loan financing) $43,000
  • Desired Profit (includes contingencies):  $50,000
  • Initial Offer Price:  $105,000