Skip to content
Utah Real Estate Q&A Discussion Forum

User Stats

Votes
Thomas Turek
  • Pleasant Grove, UT
Votes |
Moving to St. George. Need investment advice!

Thomas Turek
  • Pleasant Grove, UT
Posted Mar 3 2018, 19:47
Hey everyone! I hope I’m in the right place to post this. Im new to Bigger Pockets and have some questions about a some investment opportunities. I began a career in real estate full time as an agent but had a bit of a failure to launch my first year. I got a full time marketing job offer for a great lending company and I’m probably going to take it for more stability and to gain more expertise in marketing for future real estate work. The job will pay about $42,000 base plus small commissions for successful ad campaigns and the like. I’ll need to relocate 4 hours south of where I am now and here’s where my questions start: I bought a condo 10 months ago for about $165,000 with about $8,000 down (like 5% down) at 4.5% interest 30 year fixed rate. I want to hold on to my condo and use it as my first investment property if possible and potentially purchase a new build home In the town I’ll be relocating to. The trouble is, is I don’t think I’ll be able to make enough from renting the condo out to justify the risk, and I’ve been told I’ll be taxed more heavily on capital gains if I ended up selling the home because I haven’t owned it for 2 years now. I pay: $964 Mortgage Per month $233 HOA Per month About $100 for Gas/Electric Per month $18 for home insurance Per month So it’s about $1315 a month for the property. Looking around online it seems other condos in the area are renting for $1300-$1400 a month. I would essentially be renting it at cost, with an extremely small to non existent profit margin especially since whatever money I would make after mortgage and HOA was paid, would have to be rolled into an emergency fund for the condo in case and when something will inevitably need to be fixed. If I were to sell the condo after running comps I’ve