Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
MJ Singh
  • Old Bridge, NJ
Votes |
Is this a good deal as my 1st invesment?

MJ Singh
  • Old Bridge, NJ
Posted Feb 17 2015, 11:39

I am new to real estate and new to BP.  Looking forward to hearing from everyone.

2 FAMILY HOME FOR SALE- Great Investment Property $199,999 Central, NJ
On the 1st floor is a newly remodeled apartment having 3 bedrooms, EIK, living room, laundry room and 2 bathrooms.
On the 2nd floor is 3 bedrooms, EIK, living room and 1 bathroom. Property has a large back yard with driveway access.
Income property break down: 1st flr: $1450/mo. 2nd flr: $1410/mo. Gross income total: $2860/mo.
Operating costs: Utilities: $670/mo. Insurance: $90/mo. Taxes: $370/mo. Gross operating expense: $1130/mo.
Net income: $1730/mo.
Financing Options
Option One: 100% Financing to QUALIFIED Buyers
Option Two: 20% Down Payment-Owner Will Hold Mortgage

Thank you, 

MJ Singh

User Stats

Votes
Eric Thomson
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Conroe, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Conroe, TX
Replied Feb 17 2015, 12:00

Hello MJ,

Welcome to BP and to real estate investing!

First off, I would recommend adding maintenance and vacancy reserves of around 10% of gross rent per month each to your expense estimates to be safe. Also, I would never cover utilities for tenants. It could be a big upfront expense to have them re-metered if necessary, but I would advise it and consider the upfront cost. If you can get 100% financing at a reasonable rate then I think the numbers look pretty good. At $40,000 down it could take you around 4 years to break even if you aren't paying utilities and never have any vacancies or repairs. Of course this all depends on the rate the seller is willing to give you on financing.

User Stats

Votes
Raymond Williamson
  • Hebron, KY
Votes |
  • Hebron, KY
Replied Feb 17 2015, 12:36