• Real Estate Investor
  • Lemoore, CA
Votes |
Competing for rehabs

Jose Garcia
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Lemoore, CA
Posted Apr 23 2013, 21:13

I have been consistently beaten on my bids by this local investor with deep pockets who is part of a real estate agency which I'm not going to name. In either case, I've gone to his homes and they do a terrible job at rehabbing them but there selling. One I visited today did not even have a hood over the stove just a big hole. I can see why he is willing to pay so much more for the properties. He is not doing much more than painting.
I don't want to veer off of the 70% rule especially since I'm fairly new to real estate investing.
Any advice

User Stats

Votes
Brian Burke
Pro Member
#1 Syndications & Passive Real Estate Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Santa Rosa, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Santa Rosa, CA
Replied Apr 23 2013, 21:28

Obeying the 70% rule in California, while not impossible, is very difficult. Most properties generate enough awareness to receive bids higher than that. If you do your own direct marketing you can find deals off-market where you don't have to bid against anyone.

Your other option is to seek properties in areas where the competition isn't buying, or property types they avoid (condos, country property, older houses, luxury homes, etc).

The final option is to bid higher. This squeezes margins and adds risk. You would have more success in this area using an 80% rule. It just depends on how much volume you want to do. If you only want to do a few deals per year, you have the time to be picky and wait for the 70 percenter.

User Stats

Votes
Jose Garcia
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Lemoore, CA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Lemoore, CA
Replied Apr 23 2013, 21:36

Thanks for the advice Brian. Greatly appreciated.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored