Votes
Terrance Merck
  • Winston Salem, NC
Votes |
How do I find a profit in devlopment in current market. North Carolina

Terrance Merck
  • Winston Salem, NC
Posted Jun 26 2015, 18:42

i am looking to purchase 2.4 acres from develop 24-30 town home units. However the numbers don't seem to be in my favor.  The development would be phase two of a current 30 unit town home complex. The area is zoned and currently has sewer, water, and gas. The land is $160000. The 30 current units are all occupied with mostly home owners. Homes sold and selling between 100k-106k. It was plan to build and sell for similar price (quality and affordable housing). The construction cost at the low end($120 per sqft)alone seems to place the selling price at $144000. Not including land purchase, soft cost, etc. Is there any way to get numbers to match current area market? As stated in previous post I am a newbie. I am open and receptive to all information and constructive criticism. I'm hungry. When I eat everybody can get a plate.

User Stats

Votes
J Scott
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Sarasota, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Sarasota, FL
ModeratorReplied Jun 26 2015, 23:20

Sounds like its not a deal even if you got the land for free... Time to move on... 

User Stats

Votes
Keith Bloemendaal
  • Contractor
  • Carolina Beach, NC
Votes |
  • Contractor
  • Carolina Beach, NC
Replied Jun 27 2015, 05:09

$120 per ft seems extremely high for multi family in this area, a couple of years ago I built several fourplex buildings for around $60 per ft. Affordable housing isn't going to have granite, wood, tile, etc.. It is basic finishes. 

PropStream logo
PropStream
|
Sponsored
Nationwide property data Use our robust, multi-sourced data to find off-market properties and close your next deal.

User Stats

Votes
Terrance Merck
  • Winston Salem, NC
Votes |
  • Winston Salem, NC
Replied Jun 28 2015, 14:25