Votes
Sheba Shimoji
  • Vandalia, IL
Votes |
How does Self-Directed IRA work?

Sheba Shimoji
  • Vandalia, IL
Posted Jul 28 2015, 19:07
Hello, I recently came across at an article about self-directed IRA. I was wondering whether or not I can rollover my traditional IRA money to the self-directed IRA, so that I can use this money to invest in real estate without paying penalty, right? I am not familiar with this so I don't fully understand how it works. Do most bank offer this kind of IRA or do I need to search particular institute? Sorry it might sounds ridiculous to some but I'm a newbie and I have dumb questions. Any input will help. Thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Jon Holdman
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Mercer Island, WA
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Mercer Island, WA
ModeratorReplied Jul 28 2015, 19:26

Yes, you can roll your money from your existing account to a SDIRA.  No penalties.

No, most banks and traditional custodians do not offer this type of IRA. But there are companies that do. I'm currently using IRAServices.

There are some serious rules to follow. The IRA is a completely separate entity from YOU and the two of you can never, ever do any sort of deal together. You can't sell a property to your IRA. The IRA cannot loan you money. And not just you, but your spouse, descendants and ancestors, any entity controlled by one of those persons and certain other persons with a fiduciary duty to your IRA. If the IRA does buy a property, you cannot in any way benefit from that. All the money that goes into the property must come only from the IRA. Any profits must go back into the IRA. You cannot do any work on the property. I was advised by an attorney to avoid having the IRA even own property near properties I personally own. Your IRA can get a loan, but you cannot personally guarantee it. It must be a "non-recourse loan".