Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Brooke McDuffie
  • Snellville, GA
Votes |
New to investing in Atlanta! Rehabs vs Wholesale deals?

Brooke McDuffie
  • Snellville, GA
Posted Feb 18 2013, 08:31

Hi everyone,

I am new to real estate investing. I am trying to decide whether I should get into wholesale deals or if I should rehab for profit. If I go the fix and flip route then I will have to use hard money. With the wholesale deals, I plan to target motivated sellers and do my own birddogging to locate properties to make offers on and wholesale to other investors. I am still in the learning process, but I want to pick one area of investing and master it before moving on to another area of investing.

My situation is that I do not have a lot of liquid cash available and my credit is not great right now (working on it), which is why I would have to consider hard money for any fix and flips. I know that wholesaling would be good because there are techniques that I can use that do not require good credit or a lot of cash. I do have some money saved for marketing, earnest money, etc...

Any advice from investors in Atlanta would be great! Thanks in advance!

User Stats

Votes
Ned Carey
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Baltimore, MD
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Baltimore, MD
ModeratorReplied Feb 18 2013, 08:43
My situation is that I do not have a lot of liquid cash available

Then stay away from rehabbing. Even with 100% financing which you are highly unlikely to get you still need cash for closing costs and to fund renovations. Renovation loans are done with draw schedules. You get reimbursed in stages for the repairs you do. You do not get the money up front to do the repairs.

In order to wholesale you will need the ability to find great deals. That is a skill that will help you in whatever strategy you choose to do in the future.

User Stats

Votes
Brooke McDuffie
  • Snellville, GA
Votes |
  • Snellville, GA