Phillip Le
  • Louisville, KY
Votes |
My first deal - Multi-Family yes or no?

Phillip Le
  • Louisville, KY
Posted Feb 2 2017, 09:56

Hello,

I'm a newbie REI, looking for my first deal, so any advice will be much appreciated. I've been looking at this deal below, the asking price seems very fair but from the pictures, it seems like it needs a lot of TLC and rehab. I'm not sure how much the costs for rehab will be, but should I even consider this as my first deal? The cashflow is very tempting, which is why I'm very interested in this. FYI, I'm looking to buy it with straight cash (possibly borrowing from private lender), and will refinance it afterward. This property is in Louisville KY so any insights from the local investors will be much helpful, and thank you !!

http://www.loopnet.com/Listing/20155023/3928-South...

User Stats

Votes
Jay Leisten
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Louisville, KY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Louisville, KY
Replied Feb 2 2017, 11:12

Pm me and I'll put you in contact with a good contractor to give you detailed rehab costs. Wet finger in the air based on photos and not knowing what hvac looks like 20-30k repairs and you'll probably lose tenants during the rehab so account for 50% vacancy year one.

User Stats

Votes
James Wilcox
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Bowling Green KY ~ Lexington, KY
Votes |
Replied Feb 2 2017, 11:46

@Phillip Le I can not personally comment on this location, but I think a key thing you stated stands out "I'm not sure how much the costs for rehab will be". This is something you have to know going into this type of deal. @Jay Leisten is providing a GC contact so I would take him up on that. The local REIA in Louisville will really be a big resource for you on location and reno costs.