BiggerPockets

Which startegy is best for a flip?

Forum Powered By:

11 posts by 8 users

To participate in forum discussions, create a free account or login.

Brad Alexander

Banker from Hagerstown, Maryland

Aug 07 '11, 11:29 PM

I am a newbie investor and I have a question in regards to flipping... Since I am starting out, is it better to focus on properties that have a lower purchase price in lower potential neighborhoods ($40,000 purchase-$85,000 Max ARV)or higher purchase prices in higher potential neighborhoods ($150,000 purchase- $275,000 Max ARV) when using hard money to fund flips?

Brian Levredge

Real Estate Investor from Chattanooga, Tennessee

Aug 08 '11, 12:56 AM
1 vote

You should mine your local MLS to get the data you need to make that decision. Ideally, you want to be at the price point that attracts the most buyers. The higher your price, the smaller your pool of buyers. You can break things out by price and the associated DOM at different price levels.

If you are just getting started, I would really try to avoid using a HML for your first deal. Not only is it expensive but you could also be in a bind if the house doesn't sell quickly enough.

Jake Kucheck

Residential Real Estate Agent from Newport Beach, California

Aug 08 '11, 07:54 AM

Great to see someone on here from Hagerstown! Way back when, I did an internship with the Suns when I was in college. Worlds apart from Southern CA, but I had a blast and it was good to see a part of the country with some real history.