Is Real Estate Licensing Beneficial To An Investor?

7 Replies

Hi All,

I have a 2 part question: I want to get into real estate investing, specifically buy-and-hold rental properties and I'm considering taking real estate license classes to do so. I was originally going to just get myself an agent but now I'm wondering if it would be beneficial for me to learn how to be an agent and get licensed? So, my biggest question is would this be worth doing as an investor?

The second part is that I've been looking into this a bit and have found online classes I can take that are based in Massachusetts. Does anyone know if I can take these courses and get licensed in Massachusetts even though I am a Connecticut resident? (CT doesn't offer online licensing classes and the MA course requires 20 less hours) I believe CT offers license reciprocity so I think as long as I pass the MA exam and get licensed I can apply for the license in CT without having to take more classes as well as the CT exam. I'm just not sure if I can take the MA classes to begin with.

Thank you,

Justin

Hey Justin,

To answer the first part of your question, I think it is beneficial to familiarize yourself with the laws and process that a real estate agent is going through to help an investor close a deal.  I personally took the classes to get a license and was planning on actually completing my license, (though never did because I moved to CA), in MA for a few reasons. 

1) The cost was low, I think I only paid about $400 for the course.

2) The time commitment was low, you only need to complete 40 hours of instruction.

3) If I wanted to get a license, I could do so and hang it with a broker simply to help myself with my own process of accessing the MLS and being more self sufficient.