• Southern California
Votes |
200k Purchase Price Seeking Cashflow

Zane K.
  • New to Real Estate
  • Southern California
Posted Apr 3 2024, 21:49

Hi Everyone, 

This is my first time posting so I apologize if this is the wrong forum. 

I live in California and like many California Investors prices are just too high in the area I live. I am looking for my first rental property with a goal of Cashflow! 

My max purchase price is around 200k. 

I have never been to Texas but am planning on making a trip to check the area out. What areas would you recommend for cash flow at my purchase price?

I am open to areas outside of Houston as well. Any insight you can give me is very appreciated!

Thank you!

User Stats

Votes
G. Brian Davis
Pro Member
  • Hatboro, PA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Hatboro, PA
Replied Apr 4 2024, 05:31

Hi @Zane K., glad to hear you're getting into real estate!

It's really hard for new investors to buy good rental properties and oversee them well even when you live nearby and know the area well. It gets infinitely harder when you invest out of state as a novice investor.

I got rid of all my rental properties when I moved away from my hometown. It was just too much work for not enough money.

Today I invest passively in group investments (real estate syndications) and notes. I go in on these with an entire investment club of other sharp investors, and we vet the deals together and invest with $5K instead of the typical $50-100K. I earn much higher returns than I ever did as a rental investor, with almost no work required on my part.

But I would certainly never discourage anyone from investing in rentals if they are truly passionate about building a side hustle business. Just go in knowing that that's what it will be. 

User Stats

Votes
Nicholas L.
Pro Member
#3 Real Estate News & Current Events Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh
Votes |
Pro Member
#3 Real Estate News & Current Events Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Pittsburgh