Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Jeff McCaskey
  • Investor
  • Isabel, KS
Votes |
Does anyone actually check references on an application????

Jeff McCaskey
  • Investor
  • Isabel, KS
Posted Feb 25 2015, 19:26

I just wanted to hear from anyone and everyone about this topic.....

I have been doing this for about 5 years now and probably run through 100 different tenants (total number of people - not turned over units) in my time and I check every application that gets turned in!!!

BUT....... during that time I have only had ONE, yes count that ONE, other manager call me to check on a previous rental reference for an applicant.

So since I basically get nobody at all, ever, whatsoever, calling to check references I am forced to assume that the VAST MAJORITY of landlords don't ever make the phone calls.

Like I said, I sure as hell process ALL of my applicants. Have the rest of you had any experiences similar or different to share????

I can't wait to read what you have to say :)

Thanks!!

User Stats

Votes
Chris Winterhalter
  • Investor
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Chicago, IL
Replied Feb 25 2015, 19:32

@Jeff McCaskey 

We (my property manager) turns down applications on a some-what regular basis because of referrals.  

Just two weeks ago we had a tenant that needed to move quickly, and wanted to get in a unit within 7 days (why the rush???).  Called the landlord reference (provided by the tenant) and the landlord stated that they were currently being evicted, late on rent for the last few months, and have caused disturbances within the complex.  DENIED! 

The tenant probably figured that a certain number of landlords wouldn't check references.  It's rather sad actually...but that's business and real estate.  Filled with a variety of people that may or may not run the operation professionally.  

User Stats

Votes
Dawn Anastasi
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Milwaukee, WI
Votes |
Pro Member