Skip to content
New Member Introductions

User Stats

Votes
Brandon Mortenson
  • Real Estate Investor
  • New York, NY
Votes |
Hello from New York. Currently an AssetMgr, would like to learn to Wholesale and Rehab

Brandon Mortenson
  • Real Estate Investor
  • New York, NY
Posted Jul 7 2010, 06:33

Ive been working for a Real Estate Investment Fund for a couple months now, selling nationwide REO's that we purchase from the bank, basically wholesaling properties but not learning much about what the investors who Im selling to are really looking for.

I enjoy the process of working with investors and selling properties, however my real goal is to learn how to wholesale for myself and where to start.

I currently live in Brooklyn. If i were, for example, to birddog for some investors initially, would I need to work with properties near where I live? And what should I be looking for; comps, repair estimates, taxes. Im sure there's a lot more to it.

I welcome all questions. Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Bill Gulley#3 Guru, Book, & Course Reviews Contributor
  • Investor, Entrepreneur, Educator
  • Springfield, MO
Votes |
Bill Gulley#3 Guru, Book, & Course Reviews Contributor
  • Investor, Entrepreneur, Educator
  • Springfield, MO
Replied Jul 7 2010, 07:04

Hi, welcome to BP. I'd suggest you attend a local REI club and meet the investors in your area, and take it from there. You might ask them as to what they are looking for. Get your game plan set along the lines of your market, in other words, see what your customers want and fill the need.

As to how to qualify a property as a deal, read the forums here and review the appraisal process. Good luck, Bill

Account Closed
  • Landlord
  • Seattle, WA
Votes |
  • Landlord
  • Seattle, WA
Replied Jul 7 2010, 11:53

Welcome Brandon.

You can learn a lot about wholesaling here and I suspect you may be able to find some interest for REOs that you might have.