• Investor
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
Questions from a Newbie Wholesaler

Michael Batts
  • Investor
  • Houston, TX
Posted Jul 1 2015, 06:42

So.. I've been working non-stop to learn everything I can about wholesaling.. Yesterday I created my first bandit signs to put out, but began to feel anxious about potential sellers calling. I know many new investors go through this phase. I pretty much know what to ask them about the property.. however, I get stuck (in my head) on how to position myself when they're getting ready to sign the contract. I've heard some wholesalers say Never tell them you're not actually purchasing the property & I've heard others say to just be honest. Honestly, being transparent makes me feel a lot better about it. On the other hand, I don't want to lose deals because of the reputation of wholesalers. Please Help! 

User Stats

Votes
Adam Furman
  • Glen Allen, VA
Votes |
  • Glen Allen, VA
Replied Jul 1 2015, 06:51

Hi Michael,

Although I am new to wholesaling myself, I can say from my 10 years of sales that being transparent is the way to go. How you go about that is all up to how you Q&A your customer. You don't have to disclose your entire soul to them, but be legal and ethical.

With this in mind I would suggest not assuming what the potential customer believes about wholesalers. Be the problemsolver. If you can convey that you are the wholesaler/problemsolver, I think the seller will trust and be happy to sell to you. 

Good luck!

User Stats

Votes
Cordell Hinton-Brown
  • Milwaukee, WI
Votes |
  • Milwaukee, WI
Replied Jul 1 2015, 07:04