• San Francisco, CA
Votes |
Cash flow strategy, education, funding and 1031 exchange

Ron Stein
  • Investor
  • San Francisco, CA
Posted Sep 11 2017, 01:22

Hi all,

First I'm a newbie to Bigger Pockets so this is also a quick introduction. I'm based in San Francisco and have been investing in real estate part time over the past five years, having purchased in total three out of state rental properties (Vegas & Phoenix, one condo and two SF) and holding them for past five years. The purchase timing was good and though I made a lot of mistakes and had my fair share (and then some) of unfortunate incidents (replacing roof, flooding, water heaters, bad tenants, etc) during the past years in terms of managing the properties, I have learned a lot and made a nice cash flow and all properties appreciated significantly. I sold the smallest property last year and now looking to sell one of the single family homes I own in Phoenix and hopefully get into multi-family units and do a 1031 exchange. I've also participated in a few syndications. 

A few questions that I was hoping the community could help me with:

1) Strategy - I'd like to increase my passive income over the next year from ~2K/month to at least ~5K/month which should cover most of my living expenses. The question is what is strategy is best to move forward? Over the years with all the troubles I had I thought it's best to move towards passive investments with syndications. I've had luck with those so far. That said, lately I realized that I'm actually not bad in handling my properties and if I changed my mindset slightly I can actually continue active management but double down and move into multi-family. It's been very clear early on that having a handful of SF is not diversified enough to absorb shocks to cash flow from big ticket items such as the ones I've dealt with (flooding, etc). So a few questions: