Lease prohibits balcony use - tenant uses balcony and says fix it

8 Replies

Hi BP,

This is my first rental I'm land lording. The home has a second story balcony attached to a bedroom. This balcony has a loose-ish railing and a semi-soft spot in the corner. Because of this liability, I don't want anyone on the balcony. The lease says: 

"Second floor balcony may only be used as an emergency exit. Landlord is not responsible for any injuries sustained by Tenant or guests of Tenant as a result of the emergency exit being used."

Within days of signing the lease, the tenant sent me a video of themselves on the balcony pointing to the spot and saying there is a soft spot and that I need to fix it ASAP.

Am I obligated to fix this if they've signed a lease addendum with the above-referenced language?

Again, I'm new to the real estate game so I'm open to any feedback or constructive criticism.

Thanks,

Mike

@Mike Cartwright I am not an attorney, but I would send them a reply referencing the section of the lease where they are not allowed to use this except for emergencies. That by being on the balcony to take that video is a violation of the lease they signed and agreed to.

That said, how will it cost to just fix?

Is there other emergency exists available where you could put a deadbolt that has a key on both sides of this door?

May want to check with local authorities (code enforcement maybe) to see if this is a legal option.

Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure how much it will cost to fix frankly. Being my first property I was hoping to keep costs to a minimum (within reason of course) and I wouldn't see any value added to rent by fixing it. 

My inexperience is showing here, do normal/large windows count as emergency exits on a second floor? The first floor has 3 exterior door exits (patio door included).

You have a point though, I'll get some quotes. Maybe I'll be surprised.

Thanks again for the feedback @John Underwood