New To Investing....Would Love Advice on Where to Start First

13 Replies

I'm a licensed Realtor in South Orlando and I'm looking to get into RE investing in the Central Florida area. Any and all advise you guys can provide is greatly appreciated. I've watched a few of Brandon's webinars and trainings and have several pagers of notes but any additional info you guys can provide would be awesome. Thanks in advance.

Start by figuring out your goals and what you want to get out of investing in real estate. Join local real estate investor networking groups and attend regularly. Learn about the various investing strategies, commit to one, and move forward!

@Red Johnston

Hey Red, I am a Realtor and investor from the Tampa, Florida area. I would look into doing STR's. Being in the Orlando area, you have a great market for them. I have an investor friend that makes 3k a month with theirs. Where else can you make 3k a month on one property? Worse that can happen is that you turn your STR into LTR if it doesn't work out. You really can't lose. The best way to get a property though is to use the BRRRR method. Find one that needs a little love and do the improvements and either long term rent and refi or get it set up for short term rental and refi. Either way you can cash out refi and do it all over again. Best of luck!

@Red Johnston

Best place to start would be to figure out your goals, where do you want to be? What do you want real estate to do for you?

- earn passive income?

- quite your W2?

- more free time for your family?