Looking for small multifamily in Yamhill County Oregon

6 Replies

I’m new to investing and I’m looking to jump in to the smaller multifamily units with either a 2, 3 or 4 Family plex. I live in Newberg Oregon and I’m ready to buy if you are looking to sell or know of someone in the Yamhill County area looking to part with their property? I look daily, I’ve started to drive for dollars and will be looking at doing direct mail soon. I joined in September, but got side tracked with work. I just recently started listening to BP Pod Casts and just listened to the 90 Day Challenge just recently. I am worried about getting in with the prices being so high in the entire Portland area, but I’m more worried about not getting in and getting my real estate portfolio going.
Best Regards,
Justin

@Justin LaPointe

Welcome to BP. Are you going to house-hack? Sounds like it. D4D with DM is a good way to start. There's a long checklist of items to prepare before you start your direct mail campaign:

1) Is it scalable (manual letters aren't)
2) Are you using your time in the most efficient manner (handwriting is ok for starting, but you need to hit 1000s of targets to get the responses to grow your business)
3) Is your message correct for that market? e.g. absentee, tax liens, probate, compliance issues, or simply overgrown / abandoned. Your message should maximize your probability of a response
4) Are you hitting enough people? With an average response rate of 0.5%-1% for most campaigns, are you hitting enough houses to expect a reasonable amount of calls to your number?