My first rental property investment (maybe?) - Analysis Feedback

7 Replies

Hello fellas!

I am very new to real estate and I am eager to get into it. For the past 1-1.5 months I have been constantly listening to book, reading the forums, looking at YouTube videos and doing everything I can to get educated. I network with a couple of real estate agents trying to get some listing my way that could be worth while investments. So far this is one is the one that stands out to me:

1 SFH home, in Columbia, South Carolina. It is about 7-10 min away from a pretty big hospital and very close to it there are neighborhood with houses in the 150's.

This is the current status. It is currently leased for 625 per month on a month to month lease and it seems below market. I know the current tenant in quite upset cause the house has roof problems. My plan is to go in, buy it and fix the roof (around 5k) and ask for the current tenant to pay 675 or 650 if he agrees to sign a yearly lease. 

Without Increase:

With Increase:

To me, and from what I have heard, the ROI seems pretty low as well as cashflow. I have been having a hard time finding anything that meets the 2% "rule" and most things I come across are in the 1.5% max. I wanted to include property management fees for the sake of being conservative (I live about 1h30min from that house) and probably do not want to manage it forever. 

Just wanted others to get an eye on this and let me know your feedback. This house has some potential for a BRRRR also. It is quit dated and needs a lot of fixes.

Thank you for taking the time to read and I appreciate any feedback!

@Aris Alexiou what zip code is this house in? Based on the asking price it seems like it could be in 29203. 

Out of town investors typically don't do well there. Not saying it can't be done but I wouldn't recommend it for your first purchase.

Forget the 2% rule.  Other than in extreme situations you are going to be buying in war zones.  The calculation I use is: