Buying a Multi Family in New England

10 Replies

Hi fellow investors

My goal is to buy a 2 or 3 unit multi family live in one unit and rent out / manage the others. 

The problem is the cheapest 2 family in my area is 150k. I have only 10k saved and because I am a recent independent contractor banks will not let lend me any money until I have two years of tax returns. The other problem is most of the multi families under 200k are disasters and not considered "safe, sound, and sanity". 

Should I get a part time job where I have a W-9? Or are there other ways to finance my first multi family property outside the traditional banks?

Thank you

Medium professional grade company logoRich Hupper, Highland View Realty | [email protected] | 978 364 0240

@Rich Hupper Get a girlfriend with a W2. or a partner...

"I am a recent independent contractor banks will not let lend me any money until I have two years of tax returns. The other problem is most of the multi families under 200k are disasters and not considered "safe, sound, and sanity". 

contractor + disasters = ding, ding, ding, SUCCESS?

@Mike Hurney LOL looks like I am screwed for a while. She would have to be on the mortgage with me then correct?

Medium professional grade company logoRich Hupper, Highland View Realty | [email protected] | 978 364 0240

@Rich Hupper I own multifamilies in Massachusetts. Though I am content to hold them, I do not think I would be trying to buy one unless I was going to live in it (As you are). MFH's are being bid up too much right now.  I dont know if it is normal buyers bidding them up, or an influx or foreign money, but the cap rates we are seeing near major metro areas on the east coast is just too low for my liking.