Looking for my first deal, in Myrtle Beach SC

8 Replies

I am a newbie investor, and mine and my wife's first deal will be where we want to retire, in Myrtle Beach SC. We are living and working in NYC and my retirement is still a ways off. I'm 60 years old, and retirement is looking like 67 or so, so 6 to 7 years from now. I need to get a nice condo vacation property, where we can snowbird 7 months and rent out for the seasonal vacation time, from April through September. Anyone with experience investing in this area, and can advise what we should be looking for, I'd appreciate hearing from you! Thanks fellow BPers...

@Daniel L Gorgone Hi Daniel, Myrtle Beach is a very unique market.  I'm both a realtor and investor in the area and I'd be happy to answer any specific questions you have - just shoot me a PM.

Some questions you should be thinking about: do you want on site property management, is cash flow important to you since you are really buying for your retirement, what amenities do you want, how much of an HOA are you willing to pay, etc.

Pro tip: Most beach front condos do not cash flow in this market.  It's an appreciation game right now unless you have a really spot on property management strategy. Your idea of snowbirding and renting during vacation season is spot on but you'll still need to have a really good grasp of what your Summer numbers will be after property management fees.

Have you visited before? We have 65 miles of beach to choose from. You want a good return but you also want to enjoy where you live.

Thanks guys, already much appreciated! My wife and I have visited, and we really like North Myrtle, a bit away from the really commercialized areas. We saw a few properties, and are working with 3 realtors at the moment.  As far as cash flow, of course being a BPer, we'd like the property to give a little to our pockets, but our first property needs to fit the snowbird theme, and we are looking for a nice condo rather than a house.