Financing 5+ units deal for first real estate deal

6 Replies

Is it possible (relatively easy?) to get a commercial real estate loan for a 5-8 unit apartment complex as a first time real estate investor? I've been interested in real estate for a few years now but due to graduate school I haven't been able to commit. I doubt I'll be closing any deals in 2018 but am hoping that by the start of 2019 I'll be in a position to actually pursue a real estate deal seriously.

I will be debt free, earning around 100k/year, have a credit score of 760, and should be able to supply a 20% down payment for properties I'd be interested in. Is my lack of real estate investment experience a huge barrier for me obtaining a traditional commercial bank loan for a 5-8 unit commercial property?

I'm a big time newbie but this is something I definitely want to pursue and am willing to listen to any and all advice! Also, if anyone has any resources they think I could really benefit from reading/watching/listening then please let me know.

Appreciate the help!

There are a lot of financing options available and having solid credit and income will definitely help. The first step is getting started with lenders and seeing what they can make work for you. Let me know if I can help out any more here! Good luck!

Matthew Teifke

If you have the 20% D/P and involve the bank in your search process you shouldn't have any issue. The hardest will be getting a bank to take you seriously. Sit down and meet face to face with the lender. Have a discussion about what you're looking for. They may even have a client who has a property they're wanting to sell. When you identify a property of interest, whow them your self-calculated pro-forma. It's not a bad idea to find one that meets your criteria but for one reason or another you're not serious about buying. Send it over to them and get their opinion then "walk away" from the deal to show them you're not impulsive.