Where in CA are you investing for CF , or are you?

17 Replies

Hello BP members!

I am new to REI and joined BP several months ago. We live inTurlock, CA and are looking for buy and hold multi family opportunities for cash flow. Although not opposed to SFH (just want to scale faster than 1 house at a time) Unfortunately our area will not support cash flowing properties (at least ones listed on the MLS). I have looked at other cities up to 2 hours away and it looks like the same story to me. Hard to cash flow even with 25% down.I read Brandon Turner's book on rental property investing and am excited to get into this journey/adventure.

I am also thinking of doing OOS since CF deals seem to be hard to come by. If your interested in OH check out this thread I started here. Where in OH are you investing and Why?

I wanted to see where you folks are investing in CA for cash flowing properties. Maybe this thread will have an early death since to find cash flowing properties in CA is like a unicorn and folks will want to keep their investing areas secret. Not a problem I totally get it!! I have looked in Tulare County and Bakersfield here in the valley as the only two places that might have potential. I have not looked very much in northern CA past Sac since those will be much smaller markets but I am not opposed to it if the numbers work. 

Since these places will not be in my back yard I will have to account for a PM and of course economies of scale play a part in trying to grow. Would be nice to grow in the same area as time goes on. I know in CA we are all about appreciation, I know all about it. My father has preached it my entire life, and I know how powerful it is. My family farms here in central CA and the price of land is just outrageous, you cant gore much that will actually pay the land off. However to reach FI I cannot bank on appreciation, I rather have it as icing on the cake.