Investing in Albany NY smart or not ??

10 Replies

I’m new to investing but would like to know if anyone has had experience in rental properties in Albany NY will it be the next big market ?

Albany is not a cyclical market but has always provided solid cash flow due to the amount of local colleges, hospitals, and government jobs.  But if you decide to invest In  cheap properties in D neighborhoods.. that's exactly what you'll get. 

@Kevin Urena Just to reiterate what @George Smith said, Albany is a stable market. You can do well in it, but the odds of it becoming the "next big market" is slim. Like a lot of markets things are selling pretty fast so moving quickly on good deals on the MLS is crucial.

Been looking at the land banks properties @george Smith 

@Kevin Urena I'm a investor in Albany, NY and in my opinion if you can cash flow positive after your operating expenses, debt services, and putting money aside for reserve you'd be buying a good property that being said currently it seems like investors are selling off. They're taking as low of a cap rate possible for their properties to jack up the price of property when they sell it. So when you're selling - looks good based on comparability analysis, but for buyers its to the point of making sure it makes sense for you based on cash flow.

Land bank is cheap - but there's a lot you have to get in line before proposing offers to them for a property.

People always say Albany is a stable market, with the government, schools, universities, etc.... and that appreciation shouldn't be expected. While I think this is a solid point of view, I think there is some room on the upside, but the Capital Region needs to do a better job of branding itself beyond being the state's capital.