London and Kitchener, Canada market saturated from investors?

22 Replies

Hi all,

Greetings from Toronto, Canada. I am new to the BiggerPockets forum and I think I am already addicted to this web place (specially to the podcasts). I started researching for the possibility of investing on my first rental property in the Kitchener and London Ontario, Canada area. But, while I've been researching, I find that there is the possibility that these markets could be already overflowed and saturated with investors renting houses or rooms in these markets. 

The following article talks about the saturated inventory of rental units for students in the Waterloo area. This article makes me think that investors seeking opportunities in the rental markets of London or Kitchener are late to the party. 

https://www.therecord.com/news-story/7102082-renta...

I am thinking more of entering into the single family or duplex housing as my first rental. But, now I am not too sure. If these markets are this saturated, I think that starting there is not a good idea.

I wanted to ask to any investor or realtor experienced on these areas if my thoughts have some fundamental truth?

Thanks in advance for the help. I highly appreciate it. 

Tinto

Hi @Agustin Loreto - It's not too saturated in either Kitchener or London, Ontario. There's low inventory currently, very low, but cash flow is still out there, the 1% rule can still be reached in London, and private deals will significantly increase your odds of finding properties like this right now. I can name dozens of investors that are profiting by flipping, BRRRRing, and buy-and-holding in London and Kitchener, myself included. Feel free to come out to a meetup here, 30-40 of us meet up monthly at London On FIRE (feel free to join our Facebook/Meetups.com group), our next meetup will be Tuesday, March 27th at 6:30pm. There is also a BiggerPockets that @Matt Geerts hosts monthly, definitely worth checking out.

Thanks Kellan, here's the link: