Skip to content
Canadian Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Lubica J.
Votes |
Is real estate investing for cash flow still possible in Canada?

Lubica J.
Posted Mar 22 2023, 17:05

Hi, I am new to Bigger Pockets and would love to hear your opinion.

My partner and I would like to buy our first property for house-hacking in Canada to start our journey in real estate.

We have been researching markets in British Columbia (Vancouver, Nanaimo, Victoria, Kelowna), Ontario (mainly Ottawa) and Nova Scotia (Halifax). It doesn’t seem that any numbers work for house-hacking nor for rentals – we cannot even find a property where we would break even, which makes me wonder if real estate investing into MTR or LTR is still possible in Canada or is it working only in USA at this point?

We are considering 2 options: Our preferred option is buying a duplex, live in one part and rent the other half. There are not many multi-family properties on Zillow and other webpages, so we didn’t get much progress in researching this option.

The second option is to buy a 2 bdr apartment for us and then another separate 2 bdr apartment for MTR or LTR. Unfortunately, even in cheaper markets such as Ottawa, the cost of the 2 bdr is approximately 350k – 400k and rent seems to be around $2,300. With home association fees $500 - $1,000 monthly plus mortgage plus taxes and all expenses – the cashflow comes always negative. Even without home association fees, the calculations barely came even. We are open to move anywhere in Ontario if the numbers make sense. Ottawa was the only cheaper-ish market that we found so far.

If you are experienced realtor in Ontario, what other towns/locations would you recommend?