Votes
Denise Métoyer
  • Yucca Valley, CA
Votes |
Get started wholesaling with no money... A challenge for you

Denise Métoyer
  • Yucca Valley, CA
Posted Jul 8 2013, 08:11

Hello everyone. I'm writing this post to challenge those of you who would like to get started in wholesaling but have yet to take action. I'd like to start by saying that I am by no means an expert in wholesaling. This post is based entirely on advice that I've received from other wholesalers as well as experts here on Bigger Pockets, and I welcome any correction or additional advice. I've decided to challenge to myself to take action and am sharing this in hopes that others will be inspired to do the same. Here are the two challenges that I would like to present:

CHALLENGE #1:
For those who have no money but want to gain some experience, or those who are as of yet unsure about investing their money.

Dedicate a time to do these activities daily if possible.

1. Start getting to know what properties investors are buying in your target area and what their criteria is.

You can find investors in your area through local REIA meetings, Craigslist ads, bandit signs posted in your target area, a city search here on BP or any other way you can think of. Give them a brief call, let them know who you are and ask them if they're buying in your area and what their criteria is. What type of property are they looking for? Are they flipping or are they buy and holds? Price range? 3bed/2bath? Etc.

2. Get to know your market area. (You can do this as you're contacting investors to find out what you should be looking for.)

Get a map of your target area and start driving for dollars:
a)Note the types of neighborhoods you're in (rental areas, mostly home owners, "bad" or "good" or up and coming neighborhood, what's nearby?)
b)Look for vacant or run down houses.
c)Look for FSBOs.
d)Take note of bandits signs and write down the numbers.