Should I refinance to get cash out for 2nd property.

3 Replies

I have a property at 8% owner finance and I of course want to refinance as soon as possible. Should I refinance what I owe which is 150k or should I refinance at the new value of around 195-200 and use the lump sum of cash to help get another deal together. How much can I get LTV on a refinance. What is your opinion on taking equity out of the property. I am new to this an very open, an guidance and perhaps a referral for the orlando area would be greatly appreciated .

With out going in to a long reply on the property, If the numbers still work and give you a cap rate that you can live with (risk wise) then YES! LTV is depending on the bank 65 to 80% is what we have been avg.

If your credit is good you should be able to cut your rate down to 4 to 5% 

Remember to take in to consideration all your closing fees.  

I did a lot of these ( 20 plus) back in 2004-06 pocketed a lot of cash reinvested all of it back in to more properties. As I look back on it years later, I realized that was a mistake. 

What I should have done then that I now do is, take a % of refi or any deal I close on and put it away and not touch it. It is very important to build a cash base for your future. Along with other streams of income. 

Don't wait till later start now.

Originally posted by @Jacob Olivos :

I have a property at 8% owner finance and I of course want to refinance as soon as possible. Should I refinance what I owe which is 150k or should I refinance at the new value of around 195-200 and use the lump sum of cash to help get another deal together. How much can I get LTV on a refinance. What is your opinion on taking equity out of the property. I am new to this an very open, an guidance and perhaps a referral for the orlando area would be greatly appreciated .

HI Jacob,