Marketing a New Property Management Company

3 Replies

I have been managing investment properties for several years and decided to start my own business. How did you other property managers reach out to your clients? Or how did you as an investor find your property manager? I feel as if I am blindly reaching out to investors,  many of which manage their own properties. I have been able to attain a few clients in the last few months but need to get a few more on the books. 

@Hannah Robie  congrats on reaching out to expand your horizons. I too am in Kansas City and I personally do property management. As you know, or may not know so I will tell you, many investors investing in KC are out of state and need local assistance. If you're prepared to take on business I suggest you start posting ads online such as craigslist and see what happens. There are a lot of property managers (quantity) but not a lot of property managers who do a good job (quality). If you do a good solid job you'll be ahead of the pack.  You might also network with investors at local REIAs there are several very good ones.

Are you a licensed real estate agent? Do you have insurance? Are you bonded? I think the first steps are to put yourself together in a professional manner if you haven't already. Just my opinion. 

Good luck!

Thanks JJ. I have managed hundreds of properties at once for my former employer. Almost all of our clients were out of state and in Canada. While I was there I doubled our clientele,  so I definitely understand the importance of quality considering the majority of the clients I had were word of mouth referrals. I am an agent and my business is all put together. I had tried putting ads on Craigslist years ago, but I will definitely try again for y own company. Thanks for your input.