Why do I need an agent to get "full MLS access?"

11 Replies

Hi All,

I'm new to this business, and been doing a lot of research to try and get to speed. Something that I keep reading, repeatedly, is that I need to work with a real estate agent so that I can "get MLS access." Now, I have no problem working with an agent, but every time I read that, I find myself wondering what it is that only real estate agents have access to in the MLS. I am in the Washington DC metro area, MRIS.com is our local MLS, and brokerages who operate in our area, like Redfin, will show you active, pending, and sold listings, along with the price history, historical sales for any given property, if it's a foreclosure or short-sale, room dimensions, directions to the listing, listing agent, remarks... I can't figure out what's missing.

What is is that agents can see on the MLS that the general public can't see? I've worked with agents in the past, and when I compare the listing info they send me doesn't have any details I couldn't already find on Redfin. Is MRIS (the DC area MLS) unusual in that it allows brokerages to publish more information than most other MLS operators?

-Josh

Hi Josh,

At least in my mls (metro atlanta), There are various reports available. What you're probably being sent is the client version of the report.  There is also an agent report with more info such as listing info, commissions and private agent comments related to the property. Yes in this day, most info is available via the internet,  but depending on the site it may be old info.  Some sites do have the info feed to then via an idx feed. 

I don't regularly use redfin or others, so I am not sure exactly what is there,  but the biggest difference I see from what my clients send me (that they found online) is the info is old. 

I cant speak on your particular MLS.