Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes

Leveraged vs unleveraged

Posted Aug 14 2018, 01:20

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the BiggerPockets community. I am also new to the idea of real estate investing and more specifically earning income via rentals. 

My question is about choosing to go down the unleveraged path. I understand that leverage means more risk but at the same time more return on investment. I want the real estate part of my portfolio (I also invest heavily in index funds) to be as less risky as possible. I also have the money in hand to invest so I do not need loans etc!

It seems to me that everyone/everything I read online is about success via leveraged investments. So my question is: is it worthwhile to even think about unleveraged real estate investments? What are the pros and cons of going down that path? 

Thanks

User Stats

Votes
John Warren
  • Real Estate Broker
  • 1658 N. Milwaukee Ave Ste B PMP 18969 Chicago, IL 60647
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • 1658 N. Milwaukee Ave Ste B PMP 18969 Chicago, IL 60647
Replied Aug 14 2018, 03:41

@Jenson Buttwerworth I am a big believer in leverage in real estate for several reasons. The first reason is that "equity' does not actually equal low risk. Cash flow is what keeps us safe in real estate. As long as we have ample, healthy cash flow, we can service our debt and cover our expenses which allows us to hold our investment. There are plenty of properties that will not even cash flow if you own them all in cash. 

Leverage is also great because the interest is paid by the tenants and is also a tax write off. In other words, you are not paying the interest. This is one of the main reasons that I personally will not own any properties out right in the near future.